Why the Hamsa?

I know.

I’m not Indian.

Why am I using a hamsa for my business motif?

Well, I’ll tell you. But first, a story:

I was out dancing on night not too long ago, shortly after I had my new cards printed. I ran to the 7-11 to get some gum and noticed the clerk was an Indian fellow. I had my new cards with me in my small wallet. I found myself scared to allow the clerk a glimpse of the hamsa on my business cards so I turned them face down.

Riddled with shame, I went back to the dance club and confessed my guilt to my boyfriend. I exclaimed “Nathan! How could I have been so *dense* when I was designing my marketing materials as to *not* consider the cultural impact using a popular sacred Indian symbol would have when I’m some white lady using it?!!!”

He understood my fears but told me “Maybe it’s not as bad as you think.”

Later that night we were cooling off outside and he noticed a young Indian man having friendly animated conversation with a friend of ours. Nathan told me “Ask him! See if he’s offended by your business card.”

So I engaged the young man. Come to find out he was not offended. He told me there might be some who will be offended but he was pretty sure they would be the minority.

I was relieved.

Because I put quite a bit of thought in to my business logo.

I’ve been practicing massage for long enough to feel I have the right to put a hand-looking object on my business card because, let’s face it; a hand-type logo for a massage business is like a big fat marketing “Duh” and I feel it’s ok to be really obvious about what I do in business.

Beyond my flippant massage veteran’s pride and entitlement, I really *do* love the hamsa.

I love the many beautiful ways it’s depicted. I love it’s meaning. I love how it’s used. The deeper meanings of the hamsa are the kinds of energies I wish to evoke in the flow of my business. The hamsa hand is for good health, good fortune, happiness and good luck! It is a symbol known as “the healing hand!”

The eye in the hamsa is about protection against bad health, bad luck and “the malicious stare” of those who would wish me harm. (Which I need because I am human: I have made mistakes and I continue to make mistakes that sometimes upset people. And while I very deeply honor their negative feelings and reactions towards me, I must call forth peace between us and honor my promises to behave with greater wisdom and care in the future)

The hamsa you see in this blog and on my business cards was purchased on Shutterstock. My brilliant marketing genius Hannah Rames tweeked the image and made it my business motif.

So there you have it. That is why I use the hamsa as my business logo.

Leave a Reply

